arts / film / Pop Culture / Review

Post In the Pipeline / A Letdown by Les Mis

les-miserables-and-django-unchained-lead-christmas-box-office

 

I am perplexed by the proliferation of reviews raving about the two huge Christmas releases of this past season: Django Unchained and Les Miserables. I was as excited as anyone else to see these two films–I started watching the trailers and interviews for Les Mis over a year before it came out, and I re-read the book over the summer. I’ll get into Django and its blankness a little later. For now, I’d like to bring up a concise article that points out some of Les Mis’ disappointments as it was ambitiously brought to the big screen.

 

Find it at the New Yorker’s Culture Desk, here.

Leave a Reply

